June 30, 2023

LEGAL NOTICE
STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
MEDICAID NURSING FACILITY REIMBURSEMENT

TAKE NOTICE that, the Department of Human Services, Division of Medical
Assistance and Health Services, intends to submit a State Plan Amendment to the
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) to change the nursing facility rates in
order to implement budget provisions of the New Jersey Fiscal Year 2024 Appropriations
Act. This Notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of federal law and regulations,
specifically 42 U.S.C. 81396a (a)(13) and 42 CFR 8447.205.

Notwithstanding the provisions of chapter 85 of Title 8 of the New Jersey
Administrative Code or any other law or regulation to the contrary, and subject to any
required federal approval, the amounts hereinabove appropriated within the General
Medical Services program classification are subject to the following conditions: (1) Class
| (private), Class Il (county), and Class lll (special care) nursing facilities being paid on a
fee-for-service basis shall be reimbursed at a per diem rate no less than the rate received
on June 30, 2023 minus the first provider tax add-on and any performance add-on
amounts, subject to the condition that Class lll (special care) facilities shall be reimbursed
the greater of this rate or $450 per diem; (2) nursing facilities that are being paid by a
Managed Care Organization (MCO) for custodial care through a provider contract that
includes a negotiated rate shall receive that negotiated rate; (3) any Class | and Class Il
nursing facility that is being paid by an MCO for custodial care through a provider contract
but has not yet negotiated a rate shall receive the equivalent fee-for-service per diem
reimbursement rate as it received on June 30, 2023 minus the first provider tax add-on
and any performance add-on amounts, and any Class Il nursing facility that is being paid
by an MCO for custodial care through a provider contract but has not yet negotiated a
rate shall receive the equivalent fee-for-service per diem reimbursement rate as it
received on June 30, 2023 minus any performance add-on amounts, had it been a Class
I nursing facility; (4) monies designated pursuant to subsection c. of section 6 of P.L.2003,
c.105 (C.26:2H-97) for distribution to nursing facilities, less the portion of those funds to
be paid as pass-through payments in accordance with paragraph (1) of subsection d. of
section 6 of P.L.2003, ¢.105 (C.26:2H-97) and less the actual amounts expended during
fiscal year 2022 on performance add-ons and expenditures to establish a minimum per
diem of $188.35, shall be combined with amounts hereinabove appropriated for the
General Medical Services program classification for the purpose of calculating NJ
FamilyCare reimbursements for nursing facilities; (5) for the purposes of this paragraph,
a nursing facility’s per diem reimbursement rate or negotiated rate shall not include, if the
nursing facility is eligible for reimbursement, the difference between the full calculated
provider tax add-on and the quality-of-care portion of the provider tax add-on, which
difference shall be payable as an allowable cost pursuant to subsection d. of section 6 of
P.L.2003, c.105 (C.26:2H-97); (6) the add-ons used for fiscal year 2023 shall be applied
from July 1, 2023, through September 30, 2023 and the first add-on as calculated in
section 4 above shall be applied to both MCO and fee-for-service per diem
reimbursement rates effective October 1, 2023; (7) each Class |, Class Il, and Class Il



nursing facility that has, no later than the deadline established by the Commissioner of
Human Services, submitted to the Department of Human Services (DHS) the DHS Fiscal
Year 2024 CoreQ Long-Stay Survey Sample Size Calculation Grid with affirmative
answers, as defined by the Department, to validated Hospital Utilization Tracking system
use, CoreQ vendor intent, and completion of the CoreQ Long-Stay Survey sample size
calculation and, if eligible for CoreQ, no later than the deadline established by the
Commissioner of Human Services, submitted demographics to the CoreQ vendor to
initiate the CoreQ survey process, and, during calendar year 2022, has not been included
on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Special Focus Facility Lists A,
B, E or F, ranked as a one-star facility by the CMS Five-Star Quality Rating System, or
cited by the Department of Health for two or more Level G or higher licensing violations
(a) shall receive a performance add-on of $1.80 for each of the following CMS nursing
home long stay quality measures where the nursing facility has not failed to report data
for any of the reporting periods Q3 2021, Q4 2021, Q12022 and Q2 2022, and the simple
average of the quarters, as calculated by the Department with available data, is at or
below the lower of the New Jersey or national average, as calculated by CMS, for the
percentage of long stay residents who are: physically restrained, receiving antipsychotic
medication, experiencing one or more falls with major injury, and high risk residents with
a pressure ulcer, (b) shall receive a performance add-on of $1.80 for the following CMS
nursing home long stay quality measures where the nursing facility has not failed to report
data for any of the reporting periods Q2 2021, Q3 2021, Q4 2021 and Q1 2022, and the
simple average of the quarters, as calculated by the Department with available data, is at
or below the lower of the New Jersey or national average, as calculated by CMS, for the
number of hospitalizations per 1,000 long-stay resident days, (c) shall receive a
performance add-on of $1.80 if the percentage of long-stay residents who are assessed
and/or given, appropriately, the influenza vaccination is at or above the higher of the New
Jersey or national average for the CMS reporting influenza season ending Q2 2022, and
(d) shall receive a performance add-on of $1.80 if the nursing facility has been deemed
eligible to participate in the CoreQ survey process as determined by the Department and
received a composite score of 75 percent or greater, as calculated by the DHS vendor,
on the CoreQ Resident and Family Experience Survey for the fiscal year 2024 survey
period; and (8) each nursing facility shall receive a per diem adjustment that shall be
calculated based upon an additional $15,000,000 in State and $15,000,000 in federal
appropriations.

Additionally, notwithstanding the provisions of chapter 85 of Title 8 of the New
Jersey Administrative Code or any other law or regulation to the contrary, and subject to
any required federal approval, the amounts hereinabove appropriated within the General
Medical Services program classification are subject to the following conditions: (1) LTC-
Behavioral Health nursing facilities approved pursuant to the Department of Health’'s
expedited certificate of need being paid on a fee-for-service basis for custodial care shall
be reimbursed at a per diem rate equal to eighty-five percent of the simple average of all
Class lll (special care) LTC-Specialized Behavior Modification nursing facility rates minus
any performance add-on amounts; (2) for the purposes of this paragraph, a nursing
facility’s per diem reimbursement rate or negotiated rate shall not include, if the nursing
facility is eligible for reimbursement, the difference between the full calculated provider



tax add-on and the quality-of-care portion of the provider tax add-on, which difference
shall be payable as an allowable cost pursuant to subsection d. of section 6 of P.L.2003,
c.105 (C.26:2H-97); and (3) the add-ons used for fiscal year 2023 shall be applied from
July 1, 2023, through September 30, 2023 and the first add--on as calculated [in] herein
shall be applied to both MCO and fee-for-service per diem reimbursement rates effective
October 1, 2023.

The estimated fiscal impact associated with this State Plan Amendment is
$880,000 total ($440,000 state share) in SFY24 and $880,000 total ($440,000 state
share) in SFY25.

A copy of this Notice is available for public review at all Offices of the Area
Agencies on Aging that are situated in all twenty-one counties, as well as at the local
Medical Assistance Customer Centers, County Welfare Agencies, and the DHS website
at http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html. Comments
or inquiries must be submitted in writing within 30 days of the date of this notice to:

Assistant Commissioner
Division of Aging Services
PO Box 807
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0807


http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html

